FREE SHIPPING on orders to Canada & USA $75 or more

Your cart

No Items

View & Edit cart

Cart subtotal:



Phobocosm is a death metal band from Montreal that came to life in January 2008 shortly after Samuel Dufour (guitars) and Jean-Sebastien Gagnon (drums) left their previous band and decided to form a new one. A few weeks later, Etienne Bayard joined the band as vocalist and bassist. Rob Milley later joined the band as second guitarist. The founding members agreed on one thing when they formed the band: the band's sound was going to be a mix between different styles of dark and extreme music, but its roots would have to be firmly planted in the "dark death metal" style with an old-school approach yet incorporating a lot of elements from other dark styles of music such as doom metal, black metal and ambient. Phobocosm's music is comprised of an even mix of slow, mid-paced and fast parts with a strong focus on writing the darkest riffs possible in the realm of death metal. Each band member brings his own influences into the mix to make the band's music as dark, atypical and original as possible. Influences include Immolation, Dead Congregation, Deathspell Omega, The Axis Of Perdition, Arkhon Infaustus, Hate Eternal, Incantation, Evoken, Ulcerate, Thorns, Manes/Manii and Neurosis among others. Phobocosm signed with Dark Descent Records in 2012. The label released their debut album "Deprived" on September 30, 2014. The 8-song, 48-minute opus was mixed and mastered by Colin Marston (Gorguts, Dysrhythmia, Krallice, etc.). Their second album "Bringer Of Drought" was released on Dark Descent Records on May 13, 2016. The 4 song, 35-minute album was once again mixed and mastered by Colin Marston. The band's third release was a 7" titled "Everlasting Void," released on Dark Descent Records on September 27, 2019. It featured a brand new song along with a cover of Immolation's "Here In After." The effort was mixed and mastered by Xavier Berthiaume (Gevurah, Chthe'ilist, Atramentus, etc.). Phobocosm released its third album "Foreordained" on December 8, 2023. The full-length received positive reviews from both critics and fans upon its release. The band is currently putting finishing touches on an EP that was recorded at the same time as "Foreordained". This new release should be released later in 2024 on Dark Descent Records. The band is actively working on their fourth album, with the anticipated release set for late 2025. The band has toured the USA with Mitochrondrion, Auroch, Ulcerate and Zhrine and has also shared the stage with Immolation, Gorguts, Incantation, Arkhon Infaustus, Adversarial, Krypts and many other bands. In 2019, they also performed in Copenhagen, Denmark as part of the annual Killtown Deathfest. In 2023, they did a short US tour that culminated with an appearance at the Denver edition of the Decibel Metal & Beer Festival. Current PHOBOCOSM lineup: Samuel Dufour: Guitar Jean-Sébastien Gagnon: Drums Etienne Bayard: Bass, Vocals Rob Milley: Guitar